Fiber Fantasy

All the fibery goodness I can find and other thoughts

A Glorious Fibery Day August 22, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy Clarke @ 4:42 am

What a wonderful day I had today. My friend Donna and I went for our bi-weekly coffee. We usually go to Lakeside Fibers http://www.lakesidefibers.com/ here in Madison, a wonderful shop of coffee and yarn pron. This morning we branched out to The Sow’s Ear in Verona http://www.knitandsip.com/ They have recently doubled (or there about) their square footage. Lots and lots of yarny goodness and great coffee. I brought my computer along to introduce Donna to the world of knitting blogs and podcasts. She was a bit overwhelmed. We got her signed up on the lime and violet message board, and signed up with blogger. Next thing I know she will be as addicted as I am.

I’m not really sure what the cat’s were doing this morning, but I had to share.

Donna, being a self determined unemployed nurse, and me being on vacation, decided to take a little road trip just north of Madison to Susan’s Fiber Shop http://www.susansfibershop.com/ I had not been there, and Donna had never even heard of the place. It’s a little sheep farm, with yarn, roving, lots of books, spinning wheels and weaving looms. While the shop was in a bit of disarray, it has a great amount of potential (she is moving into a newly expanded space). Susan was so nice, she was kind enough to show me how a spinning wheel works, and then I treadled on a couple. I think I found one I like. Great just what I need, another fiber hobby!

We stopped for lunch on the east side of town at Monty’s Blue Plate Diner. Fantastic food! This is the same group that owns the Hubbard Ave Diner in Middleton, and several other restaurants in Madison. If you don’t know about the Pies at these two Diner’s , I would like be be the firs to recommend them. I believe that Hubbard has a larger selection at any given time, but the pies and cakes both places are Amazing!!

We had a quick stop at Gay Feather Fabrics. This was the location of my only purchase today! I know, I know what was I thinking, all that yarn….I’m trying to live within my means and this week that does not include sock yarn (though several tried to jump into my hand) I purchased a few pieces of Dupioni Silk and some ribbon. I am going to make sock knitting bags. Look for them on my etsy shop http://www.creativefibergirl.etsy.com/. Don’t look right away though, there’s nothing there currently. I hope to have lots of yarn and fabric to sell sometime soon, as well as my little sock knitting bags.

The last stop on the way home was at The Knitting Tree on Monroe Street. http://www.knittingtree.com/ Donna recently introduced me to this shop. They are very nice,with a nice selection of yarn. I look forward to visiting this shop frequently.

Finally home, I finished my first Monkey sock!! I’m very happy with it. It fits very nicely and the color is so fun.

 

Leave a comment